Embrace your inner vegetarian!

Hi friends. Yes, I’ve been away for a while. I’m finishing up my bachelors degree and working full time, so cooking and blogging have taken a back seat to just about everything else in my life! The Dude has been a wonderful, supportive husband who has handled the majority of cooking and cleaning while allowing me to babble on about the feminist voice in Salman Rushdie’s novels and whether or not I’m going to be able to test out of college algebra (the bane of my existence).

This weekend we are having our annual Spring Beer Fling where the Dude’s beers will be taking center stage. After the guest list, there is nothing more important than what food we are going to serve. Over a month ago I decided to stop eating beef and pork. I’m working towards dropping chicken and turkey, but for now they are still in my food line up. The Dude had dropped all meat from his diet. We are still eating dairy, eggs and fish. I’m not sure how that defines us, but I know we are not vegan!

The problem is, we haven’t gotten very creative about our food. I find myself thinking, “Well, there is pasta, or stir fried vegetables with rice, or tuna salad sandwiches, or salad.” Not necessarily things I want to serve at a party! The Dude and I were talking about veggie burgers just a couple of days ago, and he was bemoaning the fact that most of the pre-made burgers taste like cardboard, and I have to agree with him. Ah, but the universe was looking out for us because the next day I received my weekly e-mail from Saveur magazine. What were they talking about? Veggie Burgers! So I decided to adapt one of their recipes (because I always have to make it my own) and made mini-burgers. I plan on serving these lovely little bites as appetizers with various garnishes. Here is the recipe, and just know you can make these as full size burgers too!


IMG_2235

Diva’s Awesome Veggie Delight Burger

  • 1 celery stalk, chopped fine
  • 1 small onion, chopped fine
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped fine
  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1 can Garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained(14-15 oz)
  • 1/4 cup Tahini (sesame paste)
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 4 dashes hot sauce (adjust to taste)
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley (flat/Italian is best)
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil for sauteing

In a small pan heat 2 tsp olive oil. Saute the celery, onion and garlic for four minutes or until soft. Put in large bowl and set aside.

In the bowl of a food processor add garbanzo beans, brown rice, and Tahini. Pulse 10 times or until chopped well but not liquified. Add the bean and brown rice mixture to the sauteed vegetables. Add paprika, hot sauce and chopped parsley and combine. Taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper or additional spices as needed. Add egg to mixture and mix well.

Divide the mixture into 24 small balls (I use a mini ice cream scoop), place on a cookie sheet or plate, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 20 minutes.

Remove from refrigerator and flatten the balls into little patties. Saute in a hot pan with olive oil until golden brown and crisp. Flip and brown the second side. Transfer to paper towels to drain.

Serve warm or room temperature with your favorite garnishes — feta, tomato, cucumber/yogurt sauce. Yum!

Side note: You can form these and freeze until ready to cook. Let thaw in the refrigerator.

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Embrace your inner vegetarian!

  1. Yummers! They look and sound fabulous! Looking forward to giving them a try.

Leave a Reply

