The Four P’s

I was bored today. I shouldn’t have been really. I worked on a quilt (it’s looking awesome and I’ll show it to you when I’ve finished), and I supervised The Dude tearing out our front porch. We’re replacing the porch and putting a new front door on the house too.

Anyway…. I was bored today and I wasn’t sure what I was going to put together from the kitchen. I found a ton of fresh peppers, pancetta, and I had a bag of potatoes. I also had some Grana Padano cheese too. Get where I’m going here? The Four P’s! I decided to put them all together in a casserole. It’s so yummy. The Dude says it’s in my top FIVE! Wow! Pancetta layered with sautéed sweet peppers in extra virgin olive oil, then topped with thinly sliced Yukon Gold potatoes, bread crumbs and Grana Padano cheese. The sweet peppers mixed with the savory pancetta, creamy potatoes and the hit of salty Grana Padano… ah, I’m in love! Join me for this delightfully easy, layered casserole. You can serve it with a grilled steak or do what we did. Just have the casserole!

Here’s the recipe.

Look at these awesome peppers!

Look at these awesome peppers!

Four Ps Casserole

  • 5 large peppers, sliced (I used a mix of red, yellow and orange peppers.)
  • 8 oz pancetta, sliced paper-thin
  • 1 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, sliced thin (I used a mandolin to get even slices)
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup dried bread crumbs
  • 1 cup shaved Grana Padano cheese (or parmesan)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large hot skillet, add olive oil. When the oil heats up, toss in the peppers and saute until they begin to soften and get a bit of golden brown around the edges. While the peppers are sauteing, add your garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste. Transfer peppers to a bowl.

Using a 9 x 11 baking dish, line the bottom with a thin layer of the pancetta. Add a layer of the sautéed peppers. Add a layer of thinly sliced potatoes. Sprinkle half of the dried bread crumbs and half of the cheese. Repeat a layer of pancetta, peppers, potatoes, and finish with the rest of the bread crumbs and cheese.

Layer of pancetta.

Layer of pancetta.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Layer of potatoes with bread crumbs and Grana Padano.

Layer of potatoes with bread crumbs and Grana Padano.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 45 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Turn on the broiler, uncover the dish, and place under the broiler until browned on top. Let rest for five minutes and serve.

Yum!!!! And that wine? So terrific with this dish. The slight fruitiness of the wine offsets the earthiness of the dish.

Yum!!!! And that wine? So terrific with this dish. The slight fruitiness of the wine offsets the earthiness of the dish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This dish is awesome with a great Zinfandel wine. I love, Bogle’s Old Vine Zinfandel.

Can you make this vegetarian? Sure can! Just leave out the pancetta and you are good to go.

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

