Shrimp Scampi

Two posts in one weekend – I am tearin’ it up in the kitchen! The Dude and I spent a rather quiet Memorial Day. We went to the garden center and brought home some more plants for our vegetable garden. So far we have several different varieties of tomatoes, some peppers, and eggplant. I’ve got to look for some bush beans and then we will be all set for the summer garden.

Since our gas grill is in need of propane, we decided not to grill out. Yesterday The Dude asked if I knew how to make shrimp scampi. I looked at him as if to say, “What are you, nuts? I’m Italian for God’s sake! Of course I know how to make scampi!” Duh!

This recipe comes from watching my dad make this dish ever since I was a little bambina. Don’t get me wrong, my mom is an awesome cook, but every once in a while my dad would get in the kitchen and turn out something awesome! His shrimp scampi was right up there in the top 10 hits of the family. So today, I make shrimp scampi in honor of my dad – a veteran who served in the Korean War. Love you, dad!

Shrimp Scampi

  • 1 pound raw shrimp, cleaned, peeled and de-veined
  • 1 lemon
  • 4 cloves of garlic, sliced thin
  • 3 TBSP unsalted butter
  • 6-8 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • parmesan cheese
  • 1 pound of the pasta of your choice – I use linguine with this dish. Be sure to hold back one cup of pasta water when you drain your pasta for the sauce.

This is a quick and delicious dish, but remember that timing is everything. The shrimp cooks fast and overcooking turns the shrimp to little rubbery erasers. So, have everything chopped, sliced and on hand when you start this dish.

Boil salted water for the pasta and cook according to directions. When you put the pasta on to cook, heat a large saute pan with the butter and olive oil over medium heat. Saute the garlic and be careful not to burn.

Add the shrimp to the saute pan and cook until done – about 2-3 minutes per side on medium heat. Lower the heat and squeeze lemon over the shrimp. Drain pasta. Add reserved pasta water to the shrimp along with the parsley. Salt and pepper to taste. Add the pasta to the pan over low heat and toss to coat. Garnish with parmesan and serve in bowls with lemon wedges if desired.

Serves 4.

 

Shrimp Scampi served with one of my favorite beverages, a Spanish style hard cider called Sidra de Nava by Virtue Cider. Wonderful dry, lemony cider that compliments the scampi. Buon Appetito!

Shrimp Scampi served with one of my favorite beverages, a Spanish style hard cider called Sidra de Nava by Virtue Cider. Wonderful dry, lemony cider that compliments the scampi. Buon Appetito!

 

 

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Locations, Main Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

