Caramel Coconut Cream Pie – Need I Say More?

I hope that everyone is enjoying their Memorial Day weekend. I know that The Dude and I are enjoying beautiful weather here in NW Indiana. I also hope that you can take a moment during this busy weekend of friends, family and food to remember our veterans and all they have done to serve our country.

I’ve missed being here to share some of my favorite recipes, but I’ve been just a bit busy. I decided towards the end of last year that I was going to return to school to finish my bachelors degree in English. So, this past semester I took three classes in addition to working full-time. Luckily, I only have four more semesters to finish, but that still translates to two years. So, unfortunately blogging – and cooking – have been on the back burner. Fortunately, The Dude has been awesome with taking over cooking duties, as well as cleaning and laundry too! How lucky am I? So, when he made the request for a coconut cream pie how could I say no?

My grandmother used to make coconut cream pies and I loved them. So, I did some digging and found the recipe that I think comes closest to her’s. Of course, I couldn’t just settle for a run of the mill coconut cream pie! I decided to add a layer of homemade caramel to the bottom of the crust and then garnish the pie with a drizzle of caramel with the toasted coconut. I really think you are going to like this one!

A quick note about pie crust. I make my own. I avoided making pies for the longest time because I didn’t want to make pie crust. The invention of pre-rolled crust in the dairy case is great, and if that works for you then by all means use it! For me, I needed to get over my fear of making and rolling out a pie crust. Now I make pie crust like a pro – well, almost like a pro! Here is a link to a earlier post with my favorite pie crust recipe: https://domesticdivaeileen.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/baking-on-a-budget/  Okay, let’s make an awesome pie!

Brace yourself - you are about to create this awesomely delicious pie.

Brace yourself – you are about to create this rich and delicious pie.

Caramel Coconut Cream Pie

This recipe can be done in phases, since you need to let all the elements cool before putting the pie together.

Pie crust for a deep dish pie  – Blind bake the crust (350 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown). Be sure to poke the bottom of the pie crust with a fork to vent while baking. Pie crust must be completely cool before adding caramel, coconut filling, and whipped cream.

Easy Caramel Sauce

  • 1 c brown sugar (packed)
  • 1/2 c heavy cream
  • 4 TBSP butter
  • 1 TBSP vanilla extract

Put all ingredients in a heavy saucepan and slowly bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil for one minute. Remove from heat and transfer to a bowl. Chill until ready to use. Note that the caramel sauce will thicken when it is chilled.

Coconut Custard Cream and Whipped Cream Topping

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • Garnish: toasted coconut

Combine 1/2 cup sugar and cornstarch in a heavy saucepan. Whisk together half-and-half and egg yolks. Gradually whisk egg mixture into sugar mixture; bring to a boil over medium heat, whisking constantly. Boil 1 minute; remove from heat. Stir in butter, 1 cup coconut, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Transfer to a bowl, cover with plastic wrap, placing plastic wrap directly on filling in the bowl. Chill at least 30 minutes or until chilled through.

In the cooled pie crust, spread a thick layer of the chilled caramel sauce on the bottom. Transfer the coconut cream on top of the caramel sauce.

Sweet, silky caramel sauce is a nice surprise at the bottom of the pie.

Sweet, silky caramel sauce is a nice surprise at the bottom of the pie.

Coconut cream on top of the caramel sauce.

Coconut cream on top of the caramel sauce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In an electric mixer take the two cups of whipping cream and beat on high. As it begins to thicken slowly add the sugar and vanilla. Beat until stiff peaks form. Top the pie with the whipped cream. Drizzle additional caramel sauce on the whipped cream and sprinkle toasted coconut. Chill until read to serve.

Note: To make toasted coconut, scatter coconut on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally to brown evenly.

 

Grab a fork and a big glass of milk. Heaven!

Grab a fork and a big glass of milk. Heaven!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Caramel Coconut Cream Pie – Need I Say More?

  1. Anita says:

    Oh. My. Goodness!! This looks absolutely heavenly!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Anita says:

    Oh. My. Goodness!! This looks heavenly!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Craig Long says:

    Fabulous! I wonder how it would be if you incorpoated some Malibu Rum into it…

  4. Phyllis says:

    I can’t wait to try it!!!!

Leave a Reply

