Simplicity

Basil. To me it is the most aromatic, flavorful herb around. It reminds me of summer too! I’m growing basil in a large pot on my patio and while we were on vacation it took over. Must be due to all the rain we’ve had in this part of the world lately. All I know is that I need to use it now!

Beautiful basil!

Beautiful basil right out of my garden!

I decided to make one of the most simple, delicious topping for pasta – pesto. Pesto is basil, olive oil, pine nuts, garlic, parmesan cheese and a little salt. Whirl it around in a food processor, boil up some pasta, toss the pesto on it and dinner is served. Vegetarian friendly too! Best part about the pesto? You can make up a large amount and freeze it. Then you can enjoy a taste of summer in February when the cold winds blow.

Basil Pesto

  • 2 oz (about 6 cups) basil leaves (Genovese basil is best if you can get it)
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 2 cloves of garlic, skinned and whole
  • 1/3 cup parmesan, grated
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt

In a food processor combine pine nuts, garlic, and olive oil. Pulse until smooth. Add basil leaves in small additions and pulse until a puree. Add cheese and salt. Pulse briefly.

Pesto. What color, aroma, and big, big flavor!

Pesto. What color, aroma, and big, big flavor!

I like to make some fettucine and toss with the pesto. Top with more parmesan to taste.

Oh my gosh! This is so darned good. Simplicity on a plate!

Oh my gosh! This is so darned good. Simplicity on a plate!

Buon Appetito!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

