White Chocolate Cherry Cookies

Happy Memorial Day! I hope that you all had a wonderful holiday weekend. I spent most of the weekend working at my new part-time job. I’m a tasting consultant at a local Michigan winery/brewery/distillery. It is so much fun helping customers in the tasting room sampling our wonderful wines and spirits. I really enjoy it. It’s hectic, sometimes crowded, but the energy of the folks I work with, along with the vibe from the customers really makes the day fly by.

Some of my friends have questioned my sanity, since I already have a full-time job. Okay, they’ve questioned my sanity on several occasions, but this time it’s a valid concern! But ever since The Dude and I started making beer and wine I’ve wanted to learn more about this industry. This seasonal job is a perfect opportunity to get involved.

Tomorrow I head back to my full-time job and we are going to be in meetings for the next two days. We’ve decided to do a pot luck lunch and the request was that I handle dessert. This is what happens when you innocently make cupcakes for a colleague’s birthday!

Well, what to make? It needs to be easily transportable so I decided on cookies. But I didn’t want to make the standard chocolate chip stand-by. So, I’ve come up with a white chocolate/cherry cookie with slivered almonds. It’s quick and so yummy! Serve with some ice cold milk, a cup of coffee, or a few scoops of vanilla ice cream.

White Chocolate Cherry Cookies

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 cup dried cherries, chopped
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup almonds, slivered and blanched

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

With an electric mixer, cream the butter and both sugars together until smooth. Add the vanilla and egg, mixing well. Sift together the flour and baking soda. Spoon the flour mixture gradually into the creamed sugar mixture. Stir in the cherries, white chocolate chips and slivered almonds. Drop by heaping spoonfuls, about 2 tablespoons, onto the prepared baking sheets, 2 inches apart.

Raw cookie dough. Yeah, I had a bite!

Raw cookie dough. Yeah, I had a bite!

Bake one sheet at a time until lightly golden on top and the edges are set, 12 to 15 minutes. Cool on the sheet about 5 minutes, and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container

Yum! Crispy, light and ready to be packed up for the office.

Yum! Crispy, light and ready to be packed up for the office.

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

