Parties – It’s All About the Prep!

Next weekend The Dude and I are hosting our annual party, Brew-O-Ween. It is a combination of my love of Halloween and The Dude’s love of home brewing. There will be plenty of yummy food, brews, and a bonfire. Of course, I’ll be in costume because it’s the one day out of the year that I can dress up and act like a kid again!

The menu needs to be delicious, easy, and filling. The last thing I want is for my guests to go away hungry! The Dude is making his yummy homemade chili, and I’m making a variety of appetizers and desserts. The chili will be made with meat, so I want to make sure I make a variety of vegetarian options for my non-carnivore friends. Today, I’ll be making my delicious butternut squash empanadas and a simple and tasty recipe for Spinach Balls, a great vegetarian appetizer with a boring name! The beauty of both of these recipes is that I can make them now and freeze them. Then the night of the party all I have to do is pop them in the over for 20 minutes or so and then I’m ready to celebrate with my friends.

I’ve been making Spinach Balls for years because they are just so darned good. Get in the kitchen and crank some of these out. Your guests will love them – and so will you!

Spinach Balls

  • 1-1/2 cups stuffing (bread cubes-seasoned)
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 20 oz. frozen chopped spinach, thawed
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese, grated

All the ingredients for spinach balls.

Squeeze excess moisture from the spinach. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form into bite sized balls and freeze at least 45 minutes or until ready to use.

Mixed up and ready to make into balls.

Formed and ready to pop in the freezer until the party!

Bake at 350 degrees F for 15 minutes.

We had to bake off a few for a treat. So yummy!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Party Time. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parties – It’s All About the Prep!

  1. Justi says:

    Those look great!!!!!!! And so easy. Do you have a dipping sauce with them?

    • These do not need a dipping sauce. The butter, cheese and eggs come together to give it a flavor almost like a little mini-quiche. Hmmm, I might have to try a non-vegetarian version with some crumbled bacon in it.

      And yep, they are SUPER easy.

Leave a Reply

