Almond Chocolate Chip Bars

I’ve got a sweet tooth today. So does The Dude. It’s been hectic weekend making wine and socializing with friends, so I didn’t want to spend all day in the kitchen. Besides, the Chicago Bears’ game was on and I didn’t want to miss it. For anyone who is interested, they won! I’m sure it was because I was watching. Ha!

Anyway, I looked through my pantry this morning and found some whole blanched almonds. I don’t know about you, but I love Hershey’s chocolate bars with almonds. So, I decided to do my take on chocolate chip cookie bars by loading them up with toasted almonds and almond extract. Here’s my recipe.

Almond Chocolate Chip Bars

  • 2-1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar (raw sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup toasted blanched almonds, rough chop
  • 1-3/4 cups milk chocolate pieces

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Using your mixer, beat the butter until creamy. Add both of the sugars and the vanilla and almond extract. Beat until combined. Add eggs one and a time and blend completely. Slowly beat the flour mixture into the butter until completely blended. By hand, mix in the nuts and chocolate.

Grease a 10″x 15″ jelly roll pan and spread out the dough. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into bars.

Yum! A great easy dessert that is a cross between a brownie and a cookie!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almond Chocolate Chip Bars

  1. Darlene Beaman says:

    The Dude must love living with you!

Leave a Reply

