Salad Niçoise

Hi Everyone! Been away for a few weeks due to it being too darned hot to cook! Seriously, we are in a drought here in the Midwest. I can’t remember a summer with so many 90 to 100 degree days with little or no rain. It’s been insane.

But enough whining! It’s summer and salads are the headliner today. I love, love, love Salad Niçoise! To me, it is summer on a plate. Lovely greens make a bed for steamed green beans, fresh, bright tomatoes, the spice of some red onion, creamy potatoes, hard boiled eggs, albacore tuna and those cute little Niçoise olives. Dress with your favorite vinaigrette, grab a baguette and a bottle of Pinot Gris – you are on your way to the south of France, baby!

About five years ago I was lucky enough to attend the Cannes Film Festival (I was able to go two years in a row). The first year I was there I stayed in a tiny one bedroom apartment that had a terrace. Out on the terrace my view was of a sweet little garden park and the Mediterranean. Right outside my door and around the corner was a cafe right on the beach where every morning I had cafe au lait with a fresh croissant.  Yep, I did something right in my life to get that opportunity.

Before I left for Cannes, a friend and colleague who had spent quite a bit of time in the south of France gave me a bit of advice. He said that for my first meal in Cannes I needed to find a cafe on the water, sit outside and order a Salad Niçoise and a Stella Artois. That’s exactly what I did and it was great advice. Thank you, Don!

While I know this isn’t a travel blog, I hope you’ll humor me while I relive some good times rubbing elbows with the Hollywood Elite! 🙂

Me taking in the nightlife at the festival.

The view from my apartment terrace. Yep, I’m lucky.

Colin Firth! OMG! He had a press conference that I wrangled my way into. Sigh….

Okay enough of that, on to the recipe for this simple, yet so impressive and delicious salad.

Salad Niçoise

  • Mixed salad greens (baby lettuce, romaine, frisee, arugula, whatever you like)
  • 2-4 ounces steamed green beans (don’t over cook, you want some crunch)
  • 3 hard boiled eggs, cut in wedges
  • 8 ounces of boiled small potatoes, cut in wedges (I love Yukon Gold for this salad – so creamy and the color is divine!)
  • 4 Campari tomatoes, cut in wedges
  • 1/4 cup of thinly sliced red onion
  • 1 12 ounce can of albacore tuna packed in water, drained well and flaked
  • 5 ounces of Niçoise olives (if you can’t find Niçoise you can use any other black olive – but it just isn’t the same!)

On a large platter arrange the mixed greens. Scatter the green beans and potatoes over the mixed greens. Place the tuna on top of the greens, beans and potatoes. Add the tomatoes and eggs around the sides of the platter and then scatter the onion and olives on top of the tuna. Dress with the vinaigrette, crack open the wine and tear off a hunk of french bread. Bon Appetit!

Is this beautiful or what? Seriously, this is one of the best salads around.

Simple Vinaigrette

  • 1 TBSP Dijon mustard
  • 4 TBSP red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

Whisk ingredients together and serve.

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salad Niçoise

  1. Wenhwa Tsao says:

    very nice dressing recipe & beautiful presentation

  2. Anna Keizer says:

    Though LA has barely broken the 80 degree marker for several months now, this salad DOES sound like summer! Definitely trying this recipe!!

  3. Pingback: Green and Raw | Not the Family Business!

Leave a Reply

