Sweets for My Sweet

My husband, The Dude, is busting his hump today installing a new floor in our guest bedroom. It’s something we’ve wanted to do for a while now and the stars have aligned to make it possible. That’s code for “we got the flooring we like on sale!” Another great thing about installing the floor now is that we are expecting house guests in two weeks, so we have to get it done!

When The Dude is working on a project such as this, he likes to work alone. No matter how much I might like to help, I know I just end up getting in the way. Plus, I’m not a big fan of heavy lifting or crawling around on the floor. So, after about the fifth time I asked if I could help him, he looked at me and said, “If you really want to help you could make some cookies or something.” Now, that I can do! But what to make?

Well, after sorting through my pantry I decided it had to be brownies! But not just any brownies. I was reminded of some Mexican chocolate that The Dude made and brought to me when we were dating. Lovely dark chocolate with hints of cinnamon. I also remembered having coffee at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants in Chicago that served coffee laced with cinnamon. Easy! I was going to make Mexi-Cocoa-Coffee Brownies. Ole! Make some today!

Mexi-Cocoa-Coffee Brownies

  • Four 1-ounce squares unsweetened chocolate
  • ½ pound (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 – ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray an 8 inch square baking pan with non-stick baking spray.

Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl. Melt the chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments, being careful not to let it burn. Set it aside to cool slightly.

In a medium mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs. Add in the melted chocolate slowly and add the vanilla extract and mix. Add the flour and the cinnamon to the bowl and mix until just combined; do not over mix.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake for 40-45 minutes until the center is no longer soft. Cool the brownies completely before icing.

Mocha-Cinnamon Icing

  • ½ pound (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
  • 5 cups powdered sugar
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ to ¾ cup brewed coffee, cooled to room temperature

In a mixing bowl combine the butter, powdered sugar, cocoa powder, salt, cinnamon and vanilla. Mix until slightly combined then add ½ cup of the coffee. Whip until the icing is the desired consistency. If overly thick, add ¼ cup more coffee. The icing should be very light and fluffy.

Ice the cooled brownies, spreading it on thick. Refrigerate until the icing is firm then slice the brownies into squares.

My kitchen pup, Sadie. She's always hopeful that I'll drop something for her to gobble up. Actually, I think it was just quieter in the kitchen since The Dude was sawing the floor!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweets for My Sweet

  1. Those sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

