Friday Fish Day

It is the first Friday of Lent. One of the things I most look forward to during Lent is McDonald’s Filet o’ Fish sandwiches. But a girl cannot live on junkfood alone. I’m sure I’ll find myself in the drive-thru at the Golden Arches before Lent is over, but not tonight!

I’ll admit, I don’t make alot of fish dishes. We’re pretty much chicken, pork and beef people here. So, when I make a fish dish I want it to be easy. When I was growing up, I can remember my mom making salmon patties. She’d open a can of salmon, throw in an egg and some breadcrumbs and fry them up. That was it. I wanted to tip my hat to mom’s recipe but jazz it up for The Dude and I. So, here is my recipe.

Jazzed Up Salmon Patties

  • 1 14 oz can Alaskan Pink Salmon, drained, bones removed where possible.
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup frozen whole kernel corn, thawed
  • 1 TBSP capers, drained
  • 2 TBSP roasted red pepper, minced
  • 2 TBSP onion, minced
  • 1/2 cup dried breadcrumbs, or more if needed to bind the salmon
  • juice of half of a lemon
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs for coating the patties

Flake the salmon into a bowl removing any skin and bones that you can. Add beaten egg, corn, capers, red pepper, onion, and lemon juice. Mix together. Now add the dried bread crumbs and stir until the salmon mix holds together. Form into 4 large patties, coat in Panko breadcrumbs and transfer to a plate. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.

Coat a hot pan with canola oil and fry patties until browned on both sides and cooked through. Serve with Mayo/Caper Spread (see below).

Jazzed Up Salmon Patties!

Mayo/Caper Spread

  • 1/2 cup Mayonaise
  • 1 TBSP capers, chopped
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and serve with salmon patties.

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Fish Day

  1. pc325 says:

    Yum! Sounds delish!

  2. Anna Keizer says:

    These look awesome, Eileen! Yummy and easy — my kind of recipe! 🙂

  3. Barb says:

    Sure looks delish, will try next time I make patties.

Leave a Reply

