The Tastes of Spain

Okay, I’m excited! Christmas came a bit early to our house. My paella pan, along with 2 pounds of paella rice arrived today. I’m thinking it’s going to be a Spanish New Year celebration around here, since I can’t wait to try out my new toy.

Paella pan and Santo Tomas paella rice. Merry Christmas to me!

I have a go-to paella recipe that I’ve made for a couple of years. It includes chicken, chorizo, garbanzo beans, tomatoes, peas, green beans, red pepper, smoked paprika and of course my favorite spice in the world – saffron! I’ve always used a big non-stick pan (Paula Deen – great product!). However, I know that traditional paella is best if the bottom has some carmelized bits to it, which is hard to do in a non-stick pan. So finally I’ve decided to buy a real, honest-to-goodness paella pan. I cannot wait to use the pan on my tried and true recipe to see how it changes up with the right equipment. I bought a 15″ stainless steel, restaurant grade pan.  Isn’t she a beauty???

I’ve got to tell you about the website that I found where I ordered everything. It is Hot Paella and their website is http://www.hotpaella.com. Not only do they sell paella equipment, but they carry all sorts of products from Spain. From lovely ceramic serving dishes to all types of food products, they have an incredible selection. Wines, cheeses, hams, olives – oooh, I’m swooning! And all of it from beautiful sunny Spain!

I’ve been lucky enough to travel in Europe, but I’ve never been to Spain. My dream is to one day visit there, but in the meantime it looks like I’ll be shopping at Hot Paella to bring those flavors to my own kitchen.

Feliz Navidad!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Equipment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

