Holiday Dinner Traditions

I wrote in an earlier blog about cookies and Christmas memories. As we get ever closer to the big Christmas holiday, I’m wondering what your plans are for the big celebration. Maybe you celebrate Hanukkah or Kwanza instead. Whatever holiday your family and friends celebrate, I’d love to know what your food plans are. Cooking a big feast? A pot luck with friends? Maybe reservations at your favorite restaurant?

For The Dude and my first Christmas as husband and wife we are hosting dinner with my in-laws – mother, sister and her husband. So, it’s a small gathering. I’m really excited about hosting our first holiday at the house, but it sure is a bit daunting trying to figure out the menu. I love my in-laws, but I think they have a perception that The Dude and I eat “fancy.” Plus there are food issues and dislikes for some, so how do I make everyone happy?

In addition, I really want to “shop local” for the main dish. In our town, there is a great butcher shop called Lange’s. It’s a real throwback to old-time butcher shops. Sawdust on the floor, the smell of smoking meats as you walk in the door, and a big friendly butcher who is always ready to make suggestions for the perfect meal. One caveat though, it’s expensive! He only sells quality meats, so it’s a level above your local grocery store. Originally, I wanted to do a standing rib roast for Christmas dinner. After the sticker shock of $11.95 per pound (I need an 8-1/2 pound roast!), I quickly decided to change the menu! Fortunately, he cures his own hams, so I picked out a great big one that he’ll spiral slice for us and will be ready for pick up on Christmas Eve – at a price that will allow me to include other items on the dinner menu!

So, in addition to the ham, which I’m going to glaze with cola, cherry jam and Grand Marnier, I’m also fixing:

  • Smashed Potatoes with butter, cream, cheddar cheese. Put them in a casserole and top with panko breadcrumbs and butter.
  • Oven roasted brussel sprouts dusted with toasted hazelnuts and parmesan cheese. I love the earthiness of the roasted sprouts with the sweetness of the nuts and cheese. Yum!
  • My mother-in-law is bringing her wonderful sweet potatoes, my sister-in-law is bringing her delicious 7 layer salad, and The Dude is making his great cranberry and orange relish.
  • Dessert will be Christmas cookies supplied by my sister-in-law, and I’m going to make my brother-in-law’s favorite, Sugar Cream Pie. He was supposed to get this at Thanksgiving, but I had the flu and just could not bring myself to bake!

So, I’d really be interested in knowing your favorite holiday dishes. There is nothing like sharing ideas to get the juices flowing! Whatever you are doing for the holidays, whether it’s cooking for a crowd, making reservations, or traveling to visit loved ones, I wish you happy holidays and a terrific new year!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Party Time and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Dinner Traditions

  1. heartnsoul says:

    Always Christmas Eve with my hubby’s family…a rollicking good time! It’s even more fun now that my kids are older and keep track of their presents themselves. And I get to watch the new generation of moms navigate the flying wrapping paper and gifts….good times. LOL Dinner is always pasta with calamari and/or bracciole…yum!

    Christmas Day we stay at home and I usually cook some sort of beef roast or turkey and we have our former pastor over for dinner and whatever friends are free.

    Have a fun day, sister dear!

  2. Eileen Dominick Long says:

    I do miss Christmas Eve with my brother-in-laws family. Mmmmm, calamari. I really wanted to do a traditional dinner like that, but I was afraid it wouldn’t fly with some of the family tastes.

    Merry, merry to you and the family!

  3. heartnsoul says:

    Oh man, I wouldn’t clean it. If someone would do that for me, I’d be ok with cooking it.

  4. It will be the two of us plus the critters here for Christmas. I’m going to serve roast beast and yorkshire pudding. I’m sure the dogs and cats will enjoy a taste of it too.

    Our day will begin with a walk in a forested reserve area where the dogs can run off leash. In the afternoon we are planning to go see the premere of “War Horse” and then stop at the barn on the way home to give the Gypsy mare her Christmas carrot and apple.

    Several years ago Paul and I started our own little tradition between Christmas and New Year’s Day of going to as many movies as possible prior to the Academy Award nominations. We don’t go to movies during the year very often (if at all) so this is a fun change of pace.

    That will be our Christmas. It will be a quiet time together for the two of us and the critters. Merry Christmas to you and Craig!

Leave a Reply

