How Do You Like Them Apples?

Apples got a bad rap when Eve tempted Adam. But fortunately for us now, we don’t have to suffer God’s wrath when we want the tasty treat. And since it is fall, all roads lead to apples.

The great thing about apples is the variety. Tart or sweet, straight off the tree to pies, tarts, muffins, or paired with a lovely pork roast – there is an apple for every application.

I must confess that my favorite way to enjoy apples is in the form of hard ciders. Remember how you used to love apple cider as a kid? Well, step up to the bar and enjoy something with a bit more kick. If you’ve never had hard cider, it has a taste somewhere between beer and wine. I really like it because it doesn’t make me feel weighed down like I do when I drink beer. But because it has light carbonation it’s a lot more refreshing than wine – in my opinion at least. Plus you have that light, sweet taste of apple – heavenly!

The first hard cider I ever had was Woodchuck, and it is still one of my all time favorites. I admit that at first the cute little woodchuck on the label drew me in, but the contents of that bottle? Well, just say from the first sip I was a big fan. And the great thing is that they have so many varieties. The Dude and I were at a beer tasting last spring and I sampled Woodchuck’s Summer Cider. It’s light with a hint of blueberry. It is absolutely the perfect drink on a hot summer day. The only problem is that it is a limited edition, so when you find it at your favorite liquor store you better stock up. When The Dude would bring some home for me I treated the refrigerator like Fort Knox. Even he had to ask if he could have some! The Summer cider is long gone, but I do have a stash of the Pear cider and the ever popular Amber cider. Ain’t that woodchuck cute?

Since that first sip, I’ve expanded my horizons beyond the Woodchuck brand. Who knew there were so many different makers and styles of the stuff? The Dude has gotten into the habit of bringing me home a different brand on Friday’s after work. I mentioned to him that I was going to blog about hard cider so he brought me quite the selection this week. Yet another reason why I love him.

Aren’t they pretty? Maybe I missed my calling in food styling for photographers.

Seriously, if you haven’t tried hard cider, get out there and pick some up. If it’s been a while since you’ve enjoyed a cider then you need to try some J.K. Skrumpy or one of Crispin’ Artisanal Reserve ciders. Oh, and I’m seriously considering getting a fruit press so that we can make our own home brewed cider. I think we need to add a cider to our brewing line-up!

Cheers!

About Eileen Dominick Long

Diva, dog lover, and main squeeze to the Dude.
This entry was posted in Beverages. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

