Halloween Sweets

In our house we are gearing up for one of my absolute favorite holidays, Halloween! Every year The Dude and I host a party which we call Brew-O-Ween. Food, a occassional costume, and BEER! Lots and lots of beer. This event is where The Dude brings out all of his most recent home-brewed libations for everyone to taste, rate, and enjoy.

In between trying to get the house cleaned and decorated, I’ve also been getting the menu together. Whatever I can do ahead of time, I’m doing it! This weekend it’s Halloween cookies and yummy chorizo and black bean empanadas. In going through earlier posts I realized that I never gave a recipe that is near and dear to my heart, my mom’s butter cookie recipe.

This cookie recipe was handed down from my grandmother, to my mom, and then to me. Now you have it too! Typically I make these cookies at Christmas, but my sister-in-law, who knows that Halloween is my favorite holiday, sent me some adorable cookie cutters. Witches hat, ghost, bat, and pumpkin. I just had to make these for the party.

Love these adorable cookie cutters!

Love these adorable cookie cutters!

Butter Cookies

  • 2 cups butter, room temperature
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 6 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 6 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking powder

Beat together butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Sift flour and baking powder together and add to butter mixture in four or five increments. You’ll be able to use a heavy-duty mixer for a part of the mixing, but eventually you are going to have to get your hands in the dough to mix the last of the flour. Wrap dough tightly in plastic wrap and chill for at least an hour.

Roll out dough and cut into shapes. Bake at 425 degrees F for 5-7 minutes on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Watch them as they burn easily. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Decorate with royal icing. I use the recipe found on the powdered meringue package, which you can find in most baking aisles. Let cookies dry completely and store loosely in cookie tins.

Cookies are iced! I admit I'm not the best cookie decorator, but this was fun to do!

Cookies are iced! I admit I’m not the best cookie decorator, but this was fun to do!

Here is what I love about these cookies. Buttery and not too sweet. Let the icing bring the sweetness to the party. These take a bit of work but are well worth the effort. You can always make the cookies ahead of time and store in a cookie tin until you are ready to ice them. Decorating cookies was something that my mom always let my sister and I do during the holidays. It’s a fun way to include the kids in the kitchen and let them get creative.

Have fun and enjoy these cookies with a big glass of milk. You’ll feel like a kid again!

3 thoughts on “Halloween Sweets

  1. Angelos Goudis says:

    Mmmmm looks so good!!!

    >

  2. Your decorating/icing of the cookies is fantastic. And how did you get such a lovely black icing for the witches’ hats? Super cute halloween cookies!

  3. I was able to find black food coloring that really did the trick. I was afraid the icing would just be gray, but Wilton makes great food colorings for icing. Then I used these little squeeze bottles with various tips to ice the cookies. It was actually pretty easy and lots of fun too.

Leave a Reply

